Express Delivery on Sunday Rates 1899-1980

1909 - 1d postage + 9d Sunday express fee for all offices in Western district

While there were regular Sunday deliveries in the provinces until 1921, and express letters were sent out from offices where there were deliveries of ordinary letters, this was not the case in London where most Post Offices were closed on Sundays. In 1899 arrangements were made to deliver Service II express letters on Sunday in London by direct messenger from the London Chief Office of St-Martin's-le-Grand. They had to be specifically endorsed for Sunday delivery and at least half the fees prepaid.

The charges were the normal Service I mileage rates, calculated as the distance from the Chief Office to the approximate centre of the postal district in which the address lay, and so were generally high.

In 1921, Sunday deliveries generally were withdrawn, and an extended version of Sunday Express Delivery was introduced. It applied only to (and from) a small number of cities – Edinburgh, Dublin, Belfast, Birmingham, Bristol, Cardiff, Glasgow, Hull, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle-on-Tyne, and Sheffield, with Cork, Leicester, Nottingham and Southampton added later (although some combinations involving Irish Free State offices were not possible). The basis of the fees remained the same for London, although for the other towns there was a flat fee of 1s in addition to the mileage charge. In 1935 the service was revised on the basis of a flat fee for all destinations. It was scrapped along with Express Delivery itself from 28th July 1980.

(1) London fees by district

In the tables below, the areas are grouped by main district, with the name of the sub-district and the district number allocated in 1917. In the early years some offices were listed grouped under Battersea, Norwood or Paddington, but in the first two cases these were later grouped under the district letter.

In a few cases the names used changed, or delivery offices were added after 1899 due to opening of a new office or transfer of an existing one (in which case the relevant date, as accurately as available, will be shown in bold).

The 1919 rate increase was due to the doubling of the mileage fee from 3d to 6d. The 1921 rates are usually the same as the 1919 ones, but there were revisions to the nominal mileages for a few offices.

East Central District

1917 no. Sub District 1899 (12 Feb) 1919 (1 Jul) 1921 (1 Aug)
E.C. 1-4 3d 6d 6d

Eastern District

1917 no. Sub District 1899 (12 Feb) 1919 (1 Jul) 1921 (1 Aug)
E.1 Head District 6d 1s 1s
E.2 Bethnal Green 6d 1s 1s
E.3 Bow 1s 2s 2s
E.4 Chingford 2s 3d 4s 6d 4s 6d
E.5 Clapton 1s 2s 2s
E.6 East Ham (Nov 1912) 1s 9d 3s 6d 3s 6d
E.7 Forest Gate 1s 6d 3s 3s
E.8 Hackney 9d 1s 6d 1s 6d
E.9 Homerton 1s 2s 2s
E.10 Leyton 1s 6d 3s 3s
E.11 Leytonstone 1s 6d 3s 3s
E.12 Manor Park 1s 9d 3s 6d 3s 6d
North Woolwich 1s 9d --- ---
E.13 Plaistow 1s 6d 3s 3s
E.14 Poplar 1s 2s 2s
E.15 Stratford 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
Victoria Docks 1s 3d --- ---
E.16 Victoria Docks and North Woolwich --- 3s 6d 3s 6d
E.17 Walthamstow 1s 6d 3s 3s
E.18 Woodford and South Woodford 2s 4s 4s

Northern District

1917 no. Sub District 1899 (12 Feb) 1919 (1 Jul) 1921 (1 Aug)
N.1 Head District 6d 1s 1s
N.9 Edmonton, Lower 2s 3d 4s 6d 4s
N.18 Edmonton, Upper 1s 9d 3s 6d 3s 6d
N.3 Finchley, Church End 2s 4s 4s
N.2 Finchley, East 1s 9d 3s 6d 3s 6d
N.12 Finchley, North 2s 4s 4s
N.4 Finsbury Park 1s 2s 2s
N.5 Highbury 9d 1s 6d 1s 6d
N.6 Highgate 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
N.7 Holloway 1s 2s 2s
N.8 Hornsey 1s 6d 3s 3s
N.10 Muswell Hill (c.5 Feb 1906) 1s 6d 3s 3s
N.11 New Southgate 1s 9d 3s 6d 3s 6d
N.13 Palmer’s Green 2s 4s 4s
N.14 Southgate 2s 4s 4s
N.15 South Tottenham 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
N.16 Stoke Newington 1s 2s 2s
N.17 Tottenham 1s 6d 3s 3s
N.19 Upper Holloway 1s 2s 2s
N.20 Whetstone 2s 3d 4s 6d 4s 6d
N.21 Winchmore Hill 2s 3d 4s 6d 4s 6d
N.22 Wood Green 1s 6d 3s 3s

North Western District

1917 no. Sub District 1899 (12 Feb) 1919 (1 Jul) 1921 (1 Aug)
N.W.1 Head District 9d 1s 6d 1s 6d
N.W.2 Cricklewood (1 Sep 1906) 1s 6d 3s 3s
N.W.11 Golder's Green --- --- 3s 6d
N.W.3 Hampstead 1s 2s 2s
N.W.4 Hendon 2s 4s 4s
N.W.5 Kentish Town 9d 1s 6d 1s 6d
N.W.6 Kilburn 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
N.W.7 Mill Hill 2s 6d 5s 5s
N.W.8 St John’s Wood 1s 2s 2s
N.W.9 The Hyde 2s 3d 4s 6d 4s 6d
N.W.10 Willesden 1s 9d 3s 6d 3s 6d

South Eastern District

On 1st June 1913, Woolwich together with two of its sub-offices, Abbey Wood and Charlton, and Eltham with its town sub-offices, were transferred to the South Eastern district of London – having previously been treated as part of Kent. (The remaining Woolwich sub-offices and their town sub-offices were put under Dartford.)

1917 no. Sub District 1899 (12 Feb) 1919 (1 Jul) 1921 (1 Aug)
S.E.1 Head District 6d 1s 1s
S.E.2 Abbey Wood (1 Jun 1913) 2s 6d 5s 5s
S.E.20 Anerley [Norwood] 2s 4s 4s
S.E.3 Blackheath 1s 6d 3s 3s 6d
S.E.4 Brockley 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
S.E.5 Camberwell 9d 1s 6d 1s 6d
S.E.6 Catford (or Catford Bridge) 1s 6d 3s 3s
S.E.7 Charlton (1 Jun 1913) 1s 9d 3s 6d 3s 6d
S.E.8 Deptford 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
S.E.21 Dulwich [Norwood] 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
S.E.22 East Dulwich [Norwood] 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
S.E.9 Eltham (1 Jun 1913) 2s 3d 4s 6d 4s 6d
S.E.23 Forest Hill [Norwood] 1s 6d 3s 3s
S.E.10 Greenwich 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
S.E.24 Herne Hill [Norwood] 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
S.E.11 Kennington 9d 1s 6d 1s 6d
S.E.12 Lee 1s 6d 3s 3s 6d
S.E.13 Lewisham 1s 3d 2s 6d 3s
S.E.14 New Cross 1s 2s 2s
S.E.19 Norwood [Norwood] 1s 9d 3s 6d 3s 6d
S.E.15 Peckham 1s 2s 2s
S.E.16 Rotherhithe 9d 1s 6d 1s 6d
S.E.25 South Norwood [Norwood] 2s 4s 4s 6d
S.E.26 Sydenham [Norwood] 1s 9d 3s 6d 3s 6d
S.E.17 Walworth 6d 1s 1s
S.E.27 West Norwood [Norwood] 1s 6d 3s 3s
S.E.18 Woolwich (1 Jun 1913) 2s 4s 4s

South Western District

1917 no. Sub District 1899 (12 Feb) 1919 (1 Jul) 1921 (1 Aug)
S.W.1 Head District 9d 1s 6d 1s 6d
S.W.12 Balham [Battersea] 1s 6d 3s 3s
S.W.13 Barnes [Battersea] 2s 4s 4s
S.W.11 Battersea [Battersea] 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
S.W.2 Brixton 1s 2s 2s
S.W.3 Chelsea 1s 2s 2s
S.W.4 Clapham 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
S.W.5 Earl’s Court 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
S.W.6 Fulham 1s 6d 3s 3s
S.W.14 Mortlake [Battersea] 2s 4s 4s 6d
S.W.15 Putney [Battersea] 1s 9d 3s 6d 3s 6d
S.W.7 South Kensington 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
S.W.8 South Lambeth 9d 1s 6d 1s 6d
S.W.9 Stockwell 1s 2s 2s
S.W.16 Streatham [Battersea] 1s 9d 3s 6d 3s 6d
S.W.17 Tooting [Battersea] 1s 9d 3s 6d 3s 6d
S.W.18 Wandsworth [Battersea] 1s 6d 3s 3s
S.W.10 West Brompton 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
S.W.20 West Wimbledon --- --- 4s 6d
S.W.19 Wimbledon [Battersea] 2s 3d 4s 6d 4s

Western District (W.1) and Paddington (W.2 to W.14)

1917 no. Sub District 1899 (12 Feb) 1919 (1 Jul) 1921 (1 Aug)
W.1 9d 1s 6d 1s 6d
W.2 Paddington Head District 1s 2s 2s
W.3 Acton 2s 4s 4s
W.4 Chiswick 2s 4s 4s
W.5 Ealing 2s 3d 4s 6d 4s 6d
W.6 Hammersmith 1s 6d 3s 3s
W.7 Hanwell 2s 9d 5s 6d 5s 6d
W.8 Kensington 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
W.9 Maida Hill 1s 2s 2s
W.10 North Kensington 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
W.11 Notting Hill 1s 3d 2s 6d 2s 6d
W.12 Shepherd’s Bush 1s 6d 3s 3s
W.13 West Ealing (or Ealing Dean) 2s 6d 5s 5s
W.14 West Kensington 1s 6d 3s 3s

West Central District

1917 no. Sub District 1899 (12 Feb) 1919 (1 Jul) 1921 (1 Aug)
W.C.1-2 6d 1s 1s

(2) Provincial fees and later uniform fees

Date Fee Date Fee Date Fee
(1 Aug)
1s + 6d per mile 1935
(1 Jan)
1s 6d 1956
(1 Jan)
(17 May)
9s 1971
(15 Feb)
50p 1974
(24 Jun)
(29 Sep)
£1.50 1980
(27 May)
Last day

Guide, Circular, Leaflets